Bikram Yoga – Hot Yoga


I’ve always been a great fan of yoga. It seems to be one of these great exercise routines that not only makes you feel like you worked all of your body but also gives you no aches next morning (at least that’s how it works for me).

First time I’ve heard about hot yoga from a work colleague. She was really selling it and so I thought to myself why not trying it. As with everything my first instinct was to Google it. It looks quit scary, the room is heated to  the 100 ºF which allows the muscles, ligaments and joints to stretch without injury and it aids the healing of existing injuries. With over 600 studios worldwide Bikram Yoga is the fastest growing yoga in the world. People’s testimonials really praised it for having amazing effects not only on your body but most of all on your mind. There was nothing more for me to do but try it. Especially that again I’m finding myself in a situation where I’m not enjoying my job and constantly thinking where is my life taking me.

So, last weekend I’ve had my last junk food for month and I’ve decided to go on a month detox combined with a daily yoga exercise. Yesterday, still unsure but a bit excited I’ve joined bikram yoga city branch and brave with a bottle of 1.5 litter water started the class.

First the teacher took us through two breathing exercises (you repeat each twice) and straight to yoga postures. After about 30 minutes I started to feel dizzy and seeing stars in my eyes. My belly felt funny and so I rushed to the loo. Yes you guessed it right. I’ve been sick; my body simply couldn’t handle the heat. To my surprise I felt much better after and I went back to the exercising room. Class took 90 minutes (26 yoga postures). It was hot, sweaty and at time really hard. Trust me there was not a drop left in my water bottle.

I’ve cycled back home and felt great the whole day. Only in the evening I felt a bit like I’ve exercised but no aches just nice soft feeling of relaxed muscles. At midnight I went to bed, didn’t dream anything. I woke up early this morning, ready for another day. The sun is out while I’m blogging my bikram experience. It’s too early to say whether it had any effects jet. All I know is I’m really looking forward for my today class.

I’ll let you know tomorrow how it went.

www.bikramyoga.co.uk

Leave a Reply

